Salesmen…..

                                                    I have a soft spot  for them.
 
I’ve worked in sales for most of my working life – so I know it takes a lot of self – motivation to get out there and sell things to other people.
 
These days though – most people come to me to sell things.
 
– I’m always very polite and make a point of giving  sales people my time. I  listen to what they have to offer or look at what they want to sell.  – I really don’t want to ruin their day by being rude, off hand or giving them the cold shoulder !
 
However, several years ago – a door to door salesman, carrying a huge bag of modern telephones –  came into my office. – My young daughter of eight years of age – was also in my office with me at the time – she had just come from school.
 
The man proceeded to open his bags and show me some very expensive modern telephones for the price of twentyfive dollars !  – I knew these phones were worth hundreds of dollars – so I immediately thought "the distribution" of his wares was suspect. 
 
So very politely, I said in front of my daughter and the man in the office  – "Would you just hold on a moment – I’ll just go and speak to my husband in the factory and see what he thinks . –  My daughter Sasha followed me out of the office.
 
When I got to my husband I said to him – "There’s a man in the office selling some very expensive telephones in the office for $25.00c !  – I think they’ve " fallen off a truck! " –  My husband who was busy said – " Really!
 –  Well,  tell him to leave then –  deal with it ! 
 
So I returned to the office and very politely told the "salesman ."  " Sorry, thanks for calling but we really don’t
need any more telephones." 
 
The guy – wasn’t going to take "No" for an answer – so he got a newly boxed telephone out of his bag – wanting to show me all the features…persist with the sale. – My daughter was still taking an interest.
 
Then suddenly she  piped up  –
 
                             " See Mummy – they’re new ! -They don’t look as if they’ve " fallen off of a truck"   to me !!!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment